An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings

February 3, 2007

No Lights….

Filed under: Stuff — olbroad @ 7:45

There’s that old saying, “You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone!” Well, electricity is one of those things that when it goes out, you’re life seems to go to hell in a hand basket.

There I am, minding my own business, taking a shower and poof….no light! Mr. Ol’ Broad is always amazed that I can “see in the dark”, but there’s dark, and then, there’s DARK! This was DARK! I have no idea why the lights are out, but it seems there are a couple of other houses that are without electricity as well, just not the folks right next door. Either that, or we’re the only people living on the corners of the street that are home this evening. I know we aren’t the only old farts living around here, but who knows.

So, there I am, all by my lonesome, in my birthday suit. I stand there for a couple of minutes and they don’t come back on. No problem! Then I hear this sort of whimpering type noise…. no, it wasn’t me. I had no idea our oldest “four legged child” was such a wuss! I thought cats really can see in the dark, but evidently, not this one. What a hoot! Hey, she’s getting old, so I’m going to cut her some slack.

It’s a good thing I’m a smoker, cuz I just happened to have my lighter with me. Gotta love Bic! I manage to get down stairs, find a flash light and realize…. I still can’t see too well. It usually helps if you put your glasses on. Sigh….

Mr. Ol’ Broad has been puttering around trying to find the wind up radio with the light on it, which of course, turns out to be in the garage – NOT attached, naturally. Has anyone noticed it’s a tad nippy out there? Poor guy! What? You thought I was going outside? I don’t think so! Besides, my hair is wet! Don’t want me to catch a cold, do ya? He couldn’t find it.

Now, being a female, I’m not sure why that wind up radio/light is important. I would have thought checking the fuse box would be a priority once we got a few candles lit, but hey, that’s just me. I have no idea where the thing is, so I guess that’s not my job either. I really ought to find out, just in case. I mean, we’ve only lived in this house less than seven years after all!

Evidently, it’s not a breaker problem, cuz flipping all those didn’t do anything (I could hear ’em). Now, he wants to wander around outside to see if a wire is down, or some such thing. Nope, not time to call the electric company just yet I guess. Is this a serious male thing, or am I just an idjit!?

Tic toc, tic toc, tic toc.

Ok, he’s talking to the power company. It’s not just us.  They’re working on it. 🙂 Oh crap, it’s cold out there! Yeah, I know I said that before, but since I’m a little slow now and then, it just occurred to me that those poor utility people will have to be outside to fix the problem. Now THAT sucks!

And then there was light! YEAH! Now comes all the fun of resetting all the clocks, not to mention the DSL. :/

3 Comments »

  1. We had a water main break here no water all day. Those utility guys sure earn their pay on days like this, my guys had to go down in a wet muddy hole in the ground and splash around in this sub-zero night. But they did the job, the water just came back on.

    Comment by Patrick — February 3, 2007 @ 8:29

  2. They sure earned their overtime as far as I’m concerned. 🙂

    Comment by olbroad — February 3, 2007 @ 8:43

  3. […] Update: The power fluctuations I noticed at my house are worse than that at the Ol’ Broad’s casa. […]

    Pingback by -25 Centigrade « Spring City Chronicle — February 4, 2007 @ 12:41


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

