An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings

February 26, 2007

From There to Here….Again

Filed under: Stuff, Travel — olbroad @ 9:12

It’s conclusive! Internet connections hate me! Well, actually, no machinery is too fond of me, but that’s another issue altogether.

Last night, my connection just went poof! At the time, I didn’t think much of it, because I was heading to bed anyway. This morning, I’m getting packed up, slowly, drinking my coffee, and try to do the morning “edition”. Nope, ain’t happenin’! I think there is something wrong on my end. Maybe I clicked when I should have clacked? I call the front desk, ask them if I’m the only one having problems, and he’s clueless. If there had been a tech number in my room, I wouldn’t have to have called to desk guy.

So, I call the tech folks. I get the required computer generated “please wait”, but this time, it’s in French. French? That’s a new one. Naturally, the Spanish came along eventually, but that French threw me. I am in Texas after all. Not a lot of French types in the area. Yes, I know, that’s for business travelers and all that, but it’s the first time I’ve had 3 languages, instead of just two.

My intent was to leave here at nine. Looking out the window at the freeway traffic, I’m reconsidering that idea. So, I’m sitting here, trying to get connected, pretty much everything packed and ready to go. Well, there is the required coffee fixin’s I have to lug around with me, but that’s the easy stuff. Just cram it into the first available spot left in the suitcase.

Still no connection! grrrrrr….. I guess “morning coffee” is going to end up being a midnight snack! Sigh…. Ok, so it won’t be midnight by the time I stop somewhere in Arkansas, but my brain will probably feel that way. :-/

Night: Didn’t I say I was never going to do that again? Huh? Didn’t I?? I’m an idjit! Dumb as a box of rocks. So of course, I drove straight through back to Tennessee and am now ensconced in my own chair, with my own dial up. Well, at least I’m connected, right?

I now have an itty bitty tv, but no cable and no satellite.  That’s ok, it has a DVD player.  It makes noise.  I won’t go insane.  🙂

2 Comments »

  1. I don’t know monetarily where you sit…but broadband is where it’s at…no if’s, ands, or buts…..I haven’t had nary a problem since I’ve been using broadband…and that’s been over 5 years…..

    Comment by Pete Fanning — February 27, 2007 @ 12:49

  2. That would be all well and good, IF it was offered. Sadly, we’re outside of the area that has the ….. whatever it is that’s needed. Trust me, this is the boonies! LOL I’m looking into HughesNet, but not too sure about a company that doesn’t have a phone number.

    Comment by olbroad — February 27, 2007 @ 1:06


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

