An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings

March 12, 2007

Who Is to Blame?

Filed under: Uncategorized — olbroad @ 7:55

Like his father, boy loved dirt bikes
Death of 5-year-old puts attention on sport where kids ride fast

458-0312cody200embeddedprod_affiliate57.jpg

Cody Fidler loved dirt bikes.

His first ride came at six weeks old when dad Wade held him in an arm. At three, Cody got his own motorized minibike. A month ago, he started competing at Motocross tracks.

On Saturday, the 5-year-old preschooler was on his third practice round at the Parker Valley Motorsports Park in Cleveland County when he fell. As he tried to get up, his father said, a 12-year-old biker crashed onto him.

Cody, who was wearing a helmet, died of trauma to his neck.

My first reaction: What kind of parent lets their 5 year old race?

The Fidler family, who live in Kannapolis, said Sunday they don’t blame the older biker for the accident, but said the bigger bikes shouldn’t have been on the track at the same time as Cody.

“This may have been an accident,” said Cody’s mother, Michelle. “But it could have been prevented.”

It seems whoever was running the show was extremely negligent. When you have small children in the mix, you have to be constantly watching them.

Saturday was Cody’s first time at Parker Valley, about 50 miles west of Charlotte. He tried racing for the first time nearly a month ago in Society Hill, S.C., but he didn’t know how to ride in the deep sand. Cody got a bigger, $1,700 bike March 1.

Wade Fidler heard about JMX Racing’s events and said the family liked that there was a division for beginners. Both Wade and Michelle Fidler have bikes.

Like many parents, Wade Fidler was on the track Saturday to help pick up kids if they fell, which Cody did a few times as he tried to get used to the hilly terrain.

“He was grinning ear to ear riding around the track,” Kolasinski said.

He’s not grinning now, is he Bubba!

I have sympathy for parents who lose a child. I really do. But I’m finding it really hard to have any for those parents. This is a five year old! He should be playing with toy soldiers, digging in the dirt, making forts, things that five year old boys do. Not racing around on a $1,700 “donor mobile”!

My great nephew has a dirt bike, a four wheeler and the like. He and my brother in law rebuild those things. He knows the workings of them. He’s 13. He doesn’t race and they live out in the country where there are no other bikes to hit him. Maybe I just don’t understand. Maybe I don’t want to.

7 Comments »

  1. look kids do it all the time.. its what the kid loved and not feeling bad for the parents.. now thats jus fucked up they didnt have the other kid hit him the older one should not have been on the track at the same time you need to pull your head out of your ass and look around

    Comment by mary — March 12, 2007 @ 12:33

  2. “kids do it all the time”. Well, that’s a great argument. Kids also steal, lie and cheat, so I guess that’s ok too.

    Comment by olbroad — March 12, 2007 @ 12:40

  3. I found this page and felt extremely compelled to write. I was there. Saddest thing I have ever seen. When I saw the track EMT performing CPR I knew something was seriously wrong. All we could do was hold our own kids and cry. The tragic look on Wade’s face when he returned to load up was almost more than I could handle(He rides also). Both my boys ride(ages 7 and 10). They have been riding since age 5. They have only ridden on our property up until now. They, like Cody, are passionate about riding. My 10 year old is wanting to try racing. We have been on different tracks for the last 4 Saturdays for him to experience riding on a track with other riders. Saturday shook him up. He has had numerous questions and we have been honest with him. His heart is broken for this little boy and his family(I am lucky to have such a sympathetic child). I know (and have been told) that my husband and I are crazy to let him do this. I get nauseated everytime I see him jump. The 85cc riders had absolutely no business being on the track during the session that Cody(as well as my 7 year old)was riding in. Several statements were made that they “sneaked in” the session. That could not have happened since each rider is given a sticker with a number that corresponds to the session they are supposed to ride. At the entrance onto the track there is a flagger who, unless he is blind, should be reading each sticker. The session(as stated in the brochure you get when you arrive) was for 50cc and 65cc only. There is also a huge difference in size between the 65 and 85. Any idiot would be able to tell the difference. So my concern is that track officials allowed them to ride knowingly. Many parents have said that they saw them out there during all three runs of this session. We questioned it amongst but ourselves but trusted that the track officials knew what they were doing. This was our second time at Parker Valley and did not see this 2 weeks ago. I also know that the parents of the 85cc riders knew they were out there. What was going through their feeble minds when they registered(remember the sticker?)? In my opinion they have no regard for other riders’ safety. To be fair the child who hit Cody broke his collar bone during the impact. Injuries can go both ways when you have varying levels of riders in the same area(he’s lucky it could have been worse for him as well). I understand that he is having a very hard time coping mentally. Now he has to live with what happened for the rest of his life thanks to those who allowed him to ride with the small guys. One thing this tragedy has reminded me is that life is fragile. I know that next weekend I am going to be a basket case when my son races for the first time(Please PRAY for us). I hope I haven’t offended anyone but I really needed to get this off my chest. Thanks. Pray for the Fidler family. They are going to need it. Also pray for the boy who hit Cody. He will have a life time of (undeserving)guilt to battle.

    Comment by Laura — March 12, 2007 @ 2:26

  4. Thank you Laura. You have helped me to understand a little better. I understand the need not to keep kids in a bubble. They should be allowed to be kids.

    My great nephew took my granddaughter for a ride on his 2 wheeler (have no idea what it was) and even though he went fairly slow, both had on helmets, I still felt my stomach going into knots. I had friends killed on motorcycles, so maybe that’s where my anger and frustration comes from?

    I do pray for the safety of your kids, and all the kids out there. I hurt for the little boy who is going to have to deal with this the rest of his life.

    And I’d like to smack the crap out of the officials, many times, who were not paying attention.

    Comment by olbroad — March 12, 2007 @ 2:56

  5. Thank you for having a place for me to vent. The track websight has suspended thier community chat area. Believe me once it’s up and going again I am planning to put in my 50 cents worth. Thank you for your offering of prayers for my boys. They are our world and my husband and I couldn’t imagine life without either of them. When the time comes for the smacking around of the officials I’ll be there right beside you. Thanks, Laura

    Comment by Laura — March 12, 2007 @ 3:25

  6. Laura, you are welcome to stop by and vent any time you like. 🙂

    Comment by olbroad — March 12, 2007 @ 4:26

  7. When I read the ol’ Broad’s comments, the first thing that comes to mind is: What a cold hearted bitch. It is not enough a family looses their kid, but that have to endure a-hole comments from people who do not care on bit if this kid is dead, or not. They just need something to run their stupid mouths about.

    Second, I think what a ignorant bitch. Kids race dirt bikes all the time. A few years back in
    South Carolina a 4 year old kid was killed walking down a sidewalk. A limb fell out of a tree and hit the kid on the head. I suppose the arrogant yet stupid ol Broad would have something ignorant to say about that as well.

    Comment by simmons — August 11, 2008 @ 11:05


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

