An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings

April 20, 2007

Long Day

Filed under: Travel — olbroad @ 10:19

Due to the extremely long day I’ve had, there will be no “Evening Snack”.  I know you’re crushed, but hey, my brain is a bowl of mush, so it’s in your best interest not to be subjected.  🙂

My windshield is a bug morgue.  There are many bug carcasses in a variety of colors gracing my view.  Mostly green, yellow and red, but there are a few others thrown in for good measure.  Yes, I do believe they squeal something profound like “Oh sh*********t!” as they splat. 

It was mostly an uneventful drive, until I got a bit north of Effingham, IL.  I almost became a part of the back end of a big ol’ honkin’ SUV.  Why?  Well, because all at once, EVERYONE slammed on their brakes.  Not a pretty sight when the majority of drivers have no clue what a speed LIMIT is actually suppose to actually accomplish….limit speed.  For 45 minutes, traffic was pretty much at a stand still.  Ok, not completely because we all did manage to travel a whopping 2 miles in that time period.  Since there is nothing in that area, I could only assume there had been a pretty nasty wreck.  Honestly, I wouldn’t know because by the time I reached the “spot” there were only 3 cop cars there.  No smushed car, no heads rolling across the road after being detached from it’s body, nothing to indicate what exactly was the hold up.  Just as well, cuz I have this thing about blood. 

Radio listening was interesting.  Well, sort of.  It seems that the obsession with the Alec Baldwin voice mail nonsense was THE topic of conversation.  Why, I can’t possibly imagine.  The guy is a loony tune, no doubt about it, and yes, he should not have called his kid names, but it is evident to me that there was some serious frustration going on.  No, I’m no Baldwin fan, and I have no use for him, but before everyone tries to psychoanalyze this guy’s relationship with his kid, it would be a good idea to either butt out, or find out what brought on the tirade.

Then, there was this little tidbit.   When did being a kid become a hate crime?  Kids are rude, that’s a fact.  But for those people to get all bent out of shape over ham?  Ridiculous. 

On that note, I’m going to do my best imitation of an eggplant.  🙂

Oh, and BTW, Vista sucks!

2 Comments »

  1. This month has been a long day.

    Try Ubuntu. Or Xandros if you’re lazy.

    Linux is the Vista killer.

    Comment by Stew — April 20, 2007 @ 10:57

  2. Lord, I wish I had a clue what those were. 🙂 This is the Mr’s laptop (mine’s in the hospital) and I have decided that Microsoft should not release anything until they get the bugs out. 🙂 It doesn’t seem to like Mozilla at all and I don’t like I.E. sigh…

    Comment by olbroad — April 20, 2007 @ 11:32


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

