An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings

May 4, 2007

Affirmative Action

Filed under: Personal opinion — olbroad @ 9:11

I have been serving on a legislative committee for the past 7 months or so. I didn’t say anything, because, well, I wasn’t ready to talk about the experience and what I’ve learned. I went into this committee with an open mind, looking to learn, hear new ideas, etc. After yesterday, and the evils rants I heard from the father of a so called “leader” in the black community, I realized, nothing was ever going to change.

I’m an extremely optimistic person. I’m happy because I know G-d loves me, and I try to share that love through actions. What I heard as a ‘prayer’ last night on the audio at Badger Blogger made me realize that the poverty pimps are in control. Even though some of the people that are on the committee with me talk about change, improvements, etc., it’s nothing more than “whitey done held me down, gimme more”, “YOU owe me”. I admire the passion of Lena Taylor, and I do believe she is sincere in her desire to make improvements. I don’t agree with her politics, obviously, but her drive is amazing. However, I think we have a system right now that is broken and needs to be fixed. The same old status quo, and then more of the same, throwing money at the problem, is not going help anyone in the community, black, white, or Hispanic. By community, I mean the entire state, not just Milwaukee or Madison.

I am truly saddened by this realization. I had hope, but it’s fading fast. When you hear the hatred expressed by Michael McGee, Sr. with Jr. cackling in the background, agreeing with the filth, it’s time to realize the reason why nothing will change.

I wonder if the folks in the north realize that there is more bigotry and prejudice up here than you’d find in the south? Southerners learned how to get along, for the most part, a long time ago. Isn’t it time for the people in Milwaukee to turn their backs on the ugliness the occurred nearly 200 years ago, and look to the future? A strong education, a willing heart, and respect for yourself and your fellow man (generic) is what seems to be lacking in all areas of the country.

Maybe I shouldn’t have talked about this just yet, but I had to get it off my chest. There is nothing affirming in the actions I’ve witnessed.

2 Comments »

  1. I have not heard the comments but know of them.

    I lived for six years in the Middle East taught mostly Arabs and Muslims from Africa, Europe, and elsewhere in Asia. I even had an Christian Arab or two pass through my classes. My students from Africa were from the whole continent so I had Egyptians and students from Sub-Saharan Africa.

    I never felt bothered about skin tone differences there. One can not escape it here. The difference? The YOU owe me mentality. Look what happened to Bill Cosby when he mentioned some things.

    Comment by Marcus Aurelius — May 5, 2007 @ 1:55

  2. Even growing up in the south, I never much considered what color a person’s skin might be. I either liked the person, or I didn’t. It had much more to do with how they behaved than anything else. Half of my relatives are dark olive skinned, the other half, rather pasty. It just never occurred to me this wasn’t normal. Still doesn’t.

    Comment by olbroad — May 5, 2007 @ 3:03


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

